Heartland USA

Useful Links



Heartland International Trade Index

To help promote the USA Heartland region, InterMark3 developed the International Trade Index in cooperation with Creighton University of Omaha, Nebraska in 1996. Together, Ernie Goss, Ph.D., Ernie GossMacAllister Chair and Professor of Economics at Creighton University and Fred Baehner report monthly changes in new export orders and imports for a nine-state region that includes Minnesota, North and South Dakota, Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Arkansas.

The Index is compiled from a survey of supply managers from the Institute of Supply Management (formerly National Association of Purchasing Management). It is the only real-time leading economic indicator of international trade in the region, and is widely reported in the business media.

For a current report, click on - For further information, Contact Us.

Heartland International Business Alliance

During his first term as president of the International Trade Council of Greater Kansas City, Mr. Baehner organized an alliance comprised of leadership from international trade associations (ITAs) in a nine-state region. The purpose - four-fold:

  1. 1. Exchange calendar information on international events within the region.
    2. Exchange specialized speakers within the region.
    3. Import international speakers to multiple venues within the region.
    4. Promote the Heartland region as a viable international trade area.

In addition to Kansas City, ITAs from Omaha, Des Moines, Minneapolis, St. Louis, Central Missouri, Springfield (Missouri), Northwest Arkansas, Kansas, Tulsa and Oklahoma City participated in the alliance at semi-annual meetings in Kansas City.

IBNews (International Business News from the Heartland)

IBNews reports on news, trends and regulations affecting small to medium-sized international companies in the Heartland.

Beginning with a distribution of 336 companies, IBNews now goes to over 6,000 Heartland companies and organizations throughout the Minnesota, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, Oklahoma, Arkansas, North & South Dakota.